The Frozen Girl and The Other Me

The Frozen Girl and The Other Me
By. S. F. Wheeler

Ch.1.

“Hey!. We need some help over here. The drill just cut out.” called a man bundled from head to toe to keep out the icy wind of the Arctic.

“What do you mean?” asked an impatient woman who never got off her cell phone long enough to see what was happening around her. How the damn thing worked in the middle of Antarctica was beyond me.

“It just turned it’s self off.” the man said.

“Impossible.” the woman said hitting a switch on a machine she had no knowledge of.

The drill roared back to life but quickly died again before it could drill down any further.

“Hey I think there’s something down there.” called another man who was also bundled up. He had a pink hat the other men sometimes laughed at.

“What is it?” asked the woman.

The man in the pink hat looked down again then said “It’s too hard to tell from up here. We’ll have to remove the drill and go down.”

Several hours later a team of men and women wearing harnesses, and lights on their heads, started climbing down the smooth icy hole that the drill had made.

Down at the bottom, preventing the drill from going any further, was a chunk of smooth ice the colour of lavender.

“I think there’s something in it.” one man said as he brushed his glove over the ice.

They brought the ice back to their base and inspected it. No one wanted to melt it since the ice was an unnatural colour but they all wanted to know what was inside. So they chipped off a couple of pieces from the sides and kept them for further research before beginning to melt the big ice chunk.

Inside that ice, for probably a million years or more according to the scientists, was a little girl. They were about to begin experiments on her when I interrupted them.

“Mom said you have to go to her right away.” I told them. My mother was that woman who was always on her phone. She called the shots around here so all the men ran out to see what she wanted.

The little girl looked my age, only eight, but she had snowy white hair with a purple streak in it. Her skin was very pale but then again she had been frozen in the ice for years. I opened one of her eyes to see that they were purple. Suddenly she took a sharp breath and slapped me.

“Your alive!” I said in shock.

“Of course I am.” she said.

“You were frozen in that ice for a million years.” I told her.

“I know.” she said. “And no I’m not an alien.”

“How did you know I was going to ask that?” I asked her.

“Cause we’ve been threw this before, Devin.” she said.

“How did you know my name?” I asked a little freaked out.

“When I get older the scientists will think I’m dangerous and they’ll freeze me in this ice and send me back in time again. They do it all the time. I live a loop. I start my life here with you. Then I grow up a few years and they send me back in time. Again and again.” she said. “The men are about to come back now. I’m going to fake dead again and you have to get rid of them somehow then sneak me out of here. You promised.”

“I did?” I said confused.

“In the future you promised to help me be free for the first time.” she told me. “Here they come.” she lid back down and played dead just as the men came in.

“You shouldn’t be in here kid.” one of them said.

“But I-” I took a minute to think, I could tell them she was alive and they would help her wouldn’t they. Or I could try to get them to leave and sneak her away like she said. “I seen something outside. I don’t know what it was. It looked like a big bare.”

“Damn it.” one said. “Polar bear. Get the guns.”

As quick as they had arrived they had all gone again.

“Good work.” the girl said hoping up. “My name is Elisa.”

“I’m Devin.” I said.

“I know that.” she reminded me. “You know this is the first time we’re the same age. When this happened the last few times I was much younger than you. The very first time I was a newborn baby and you took care of me. You’re real sweet you know that. The last time I seen you I was six and we grew up together for two years. Then they sent me back again.”

“Why do they send you back?” I asked her.

She looked down at her bear feet and frowned. “You don’t like it when I show you this.” she said quietly.

“What is it?” I asked. “It’s alright.”

“You say that every time.” she said with a small smile. “Here hold out your hands. I’ll do it different this time and maybe you wont be scared.”

“Scared of what?” I asked holding out my hands. She flipped them over so my palms were up, her touch was so cold. I’d have to get her some warm clothes later.

“Alright just hold still.” she said touching my palms with her finger tips. She pulled her hands up slowly leaving behind a trail of purple ice.

I steered at the icicles in my hands then looked at her. It wasn’t that scary. She could make ice it was cool not scary.

“Why would I be afraid of this?” I asked.

“I did it different this time. And it worked. You’re not afraid.” she said smiling. “But I can make lots of ice. Much scarier than that.”

“Is this why they send you back? It’s just ice.” I said.

“Not just that.” she said sadly. “Watch.” she went over to a tub of water with who knows what in it and when her finger touched it the water froze solid.

“That’s not dangerous though.” I said. “Unless of course you go swimming in a public pool.”

“I was kept down in the ground, right above the water here, because global warming is melting all the ice. If the Arctic melts then the world will be flooded. Once the scientists figure that out, they’ll send me back. Of course they always mess it up. They mean to send me back in time to before I was dug up and then they wouldn’t dig me up again. But something goes wrong and we just start all over again.” she said. “I think I’m the reason the ice was there in the first place. I was sent back so far that I think I froze the water there and made the Arctic. Now if they don’t keep sending me back the Arctic won’t exist.”

“But you keep getting a little bit older every time right. What happens when you die?” I asked.

“I guess the Arctic will melt or it won’t exist depending on when I die. If I die here with you the Arctic will melt. If I die in the ice it won’t exist. Do you understand?” she asked.

I nodded though I hardly understood what she meant. “Let’s get you out of here now.” I said. “Before someone notices you’re missing.”

Ch.2.

Elisa and I snuck out of the lab and outside. It was night time so you could hardly see a thing. We ran across the snowy field and to an unused warehouse.

“No one comes to this warehouse. You should be safe here for awhile.” I said.

“Two weeks.” she said. “In two weeks they’ll check here.”

“Then I’ll move you somewhere else before then.” I said.

“You’re always so determined.” she said sitting on the blankets I laid out. “Every time I tell you where they will find me. You move me somewhere new. But from here we’ll go to the garage and then back here thinking they wouldn’t check here twice but they will.”

“Okay. Well I know somewhere they’re not allowed to go.” I said.

“Really? That’s new.” I said. “Where is it?”

“My room.” he said. “They can’t come in and my mother is too busy to notice me.”

“Well that is new. Your not afraid of girls anymore?”

“How did you- never mind.” he said. “Come on then. Let’s go before mom get’s home.”

Everyone at the base lived in separate dome like houses. My mother and I had two domes with a tunnel going from one to the other. Not that she checked on me anyway. She was too busy working. So it was easy to sneak Elisa into my side of the house

“There we made it safe and sound.” I said. “My bathroom is right there behind that door and that’s my bed and over there is my closet.”

She explored the room, opening my bathroom door and my closet.

“Your closet. Do you use it often?” she asked.

“Not really. I have most of my clothes in that dresser by my bed.” I said.

“Then I’ll hide in your closet. Just in case your mother comes in to check on you.” she said.

“Don’t worry she wouldn’t do that.” I said. “I’ll get you some bedding and a few blankets. And you’re going to need shoes and better clothes.”

“I can’t feel the cold you know.” she said. “One blanket will be fine but don’t worry about clothes.”

When I brought back the bedding and blankets I found Elisa sound asleep on the floor of my closet. I put the bedding down next to her and covered her in the blankets. Even if she couldn’t feel cold she still felt cold to me. She had refused shoes but I found some nicer clothes for her and left them next to her. When I was sure she was safe I went to bed.

“Good morning.” Elisa said hovering over me when I woke up. I jumped back and she laughed.
“What are you doing?” I asked.

“My stomach has been growling all morning.” she said. “I would have gotten some food but your mother is still out there on her phone.”

“Oh. I’ll go get some then.” I said. She smiled and went back to sit in the closet. She had on her new clothes which looked much better then her old torn jeans and shirt.

“Yeah. Yeah. Okay. No. Oh hold on.” my mother was saying into her phone as I entered the kitchen. “Did you see what happened to the girl? The men said you were the last one in there.”

I looked at her and she was indeed talking to me and not her phone. “I didn’t move her. I don’t think I could lift her anyway.”

“No. No he doesn’t know. Yes. Well get on it. Send out a search party. Check all of our buildings. The storage building, garage, lab, everything. The workers houses too. Yeah their houses. Just do it. Not my house you idiot.” she said as I got a big plate of breakfast.

“Here I brought food for us.” I said closing my door behind me.

“Oh good.” Elisa said. “I’m starving.”

“I didn’t know what you like so I got a bit of everything.” I said. “The bacon is good, nice and hot.”

“Not if I touch it.” Elisa said. “I can choose to freeze things but I can’t help but make everything I touch really cold.”

“Well use the fork.” I said “You might make the fork cold but at least your food will be warm still.”

She smiled and took the fork but something was bothering her.

“What’s wrong?” I asked.

“I-” she stopped and looked away.

“It’s okay.” I said. “I wont get mad or anything.”

“No but you get sad.” she said. “If I touch something too long…” she watched the metal fork as frost slowly encased it. “Then I freeze it. I- the last time- well I didn’t mean…”

“What happened. Tell me and we can stop it.” I said.

“I didn’t want to leave. I held on to you so they wouldn’t take me. And I- I froze you. They threw me back before I seen if you were okay.” she said.

“What if you wear gloves?” I asked.

“Gloves?” she questioned.

“Well I seen it in a movie. A girl had powers like you and she wore gloves so she didn’t freeze anything.” I told her.

“We could try.” she said brightening up.

I found a pair of purple gloves my mother had tossed into the recycle bin. They were small thin gloves but Elisa would be able to hold things still unlike if they were mittens or big think winter gloves. I brought them back to Elisa and she quickly put them on. She took the fork again, which had thawed by now, and nothing happened. I stood frozen, not literally, as she hugged me.

“I still can’t be too close. It’s not just my hands that freeze. All of me does it.” she said pulling away.

“Is that why you feel cold?” I asked.

“Yes.” she said. “I’m not really cold, you just become cold when you touch me.”

“Huh. That’s weird.” I said. She giggled and picked up her orange juice. It remained liquid as long as she used the straw. I asked what would happen if her lips touch it and she demonstrated instead of just telling me. The juice froze instantly then the glass and ice shattered.

“That wasn’t normal.” I said. “You didn’t do that before.”

“Because it was my hand then. You call it the kiss of death.” she said with a smile. “If I kiss something it will freeze so quick that it shatters.”

Ch. 3.

The excavation should have been over in a year. But since they didn’t find Elisa anywhere they decided to send a big search party out every day to check the ice. Every cave and snow drift was checked and then checked again. Apparently Elisa was the biggest find in history. A perfectly preserved girl that was older than the human race. They had to find her or die trying apparently.

“So this is when you go?” I asked sadly.

“I only get to stay two years each time. Now that I’m ten it should be time soon for them to find me. I don’t know when because this is the first time I was here. Maybe if I’m lucky they wont find me at all. But I know they will eventually.” she said.

“Maybe not.” I said hopefully.

“They’re bound to check here eventually or they will leave and find me when they pack up.” she said.

“No. We could run away.” I said.

“Run away?” she questioned. “We’ve never done that before.”

“Then let’s do it.” I said. “If we run away they wont ever find you. You can be free. I don’t remember making a promise to you but I’ll make it again. I promise you that I will make you free for the first time. You wont be sent back and if it means the earth drowns then who cares. If they found a way to send you back in time they can find a way to stop the ice from melting.”

“I can survive in cold temperatures but you can’t. Are you sure you want to come with me. I can run on my own so you wont have to leave your family.” Elisa said as I packed a bag.

“I won’t abandon you.” I said. “Besides if you haven’t noticed my mother doesn’t even know I exist unless my existence benefits her job.”

“What about the cold. It’s not like we can keep each other warm like in movies. I’ll freeze you.” she said sadly.

“Don’t worry, this thermal suit will keep all my heat in and keep all the cold out.” I told her.

“Even… even my cold?” she asked.

“It should. Want to try it?” I asked slipping the thermal suit on. She was very hesitant but eventually laid her hand on my arm. “I can’t feel any cold from you. Just a normal person’s touch now.”

“Really?” she said happily. Maybe it wasn’t all true. I didn’t get cold when she touched me but I could feel a chill that sent shivers threw me. I wouldn’t tell her though, she was so happy.

Late that night I took our bags from the closet and got in my thermal suit. I had flash lights but we couldn’t use them yet, there was no light out here so a small flashlight would give us away in an instant. Elisa and I ran away from the base. She had bear feet yet she didn’t seem to notice the cold snow we were running threw. Lucky for her, her long white hair hid most of her so she looked like snow. My thermal suit was black with orange on it so I would stand out in the snow. Right now I didn’t want to stand out.

“Are you okay? It’s not too cold is it?” Elisa asked me after twenty minutes of running.

“Luckily the running is keeping me really warm.” I said.

“Good.” she said smiling.

When we were too exhausted to run any longer, Elisa waved her hands and made a dome of ice for us to stay the night. Before we left the next day, Elisa destroyed the dome. Every night she would make one and every morning she would destroy it so there was no way they would find us. We continued to follow the rising sun each morning until finally, at last, we found a town. We had ran for so so long that a town was a beautiful site to see.

Ch.4.

The small town welcomed us with open arms. They had no idea who we were or where we had come from but they still let us join them. I wanted to keep going, to go so far no one would ever find us. But Elisa said this town was perfect and because it was still cold and snowy here she felt safe. She felt at home. So we stayed. There was an old man in the town that every one simply called ‘old man’ and he often checked on us and said good morning. Elisa talked to him a lot about her powers, the whole town knew by now. The girl who walked on snow for months and months to get to their town. Since she was there the snow didn’t melt. They were happy about that. They thanked her.

They gave us a spot and watched as Elisa made an igloo like theirs in a matter of seconds. They cheered for some reason. It made her happy. I guess these nice people who accepted her even with her special gift were a blessing to her. After reliving the hatred of my mother and her worker men for years I can’t blame her for liking it here so much.

“Yes you see just loop the wool around like this and then do this.” Mrs. Roswell said to Elisa as they knit together. They taught us all of their ways, how to hunt for food, how to make our clothes, everything we would need to know. Elisa was even encouraged to make ice sculptures around the town and one of the older women had Elisa call her Nan. It was a real nice place we had found. I only wished it could last forever.

When Elisa and I were sent out to hunt on our own for the first time she seemed very proud. We had just turned eighteen so the town trusted us to get their food for them.

“There.” Elisa said pointing at a moving blob of black.

“Let’s get closer.” I said. We snuck up behind the figure and aimed our bows, then it spoke.

“There they are!” he yelled. “Get them!”

I couldn’t remember what had happened in those few seconds. The group of my mothers men ran at us, grabbing Elisa’s arm. I hit him or kicked him I can’t remember and dragged Elisa away. We couldn’t go to the town and we couldn’t go back toward the base so we ran the other way toward the ocean. I was so panicked that if it wasn’t for Elisa I would have fallen right into the ocean water. She made a slid of ice and we slid down to the edge of the water where she made an ice path for us. The men couldn’t see us down here and we couldn’t see them but we could hear them shouting.

“Eight years of nothing and today we find them. Then you idiots let them get away!” I heard mother yell. “Find them!”

We didn’t dear breath, fearing they might hear us or see the fog of our breath. It was ten minutes before they left and we climbed back up.

“That was close. But now they might go looking around the town. What if they find it?” Elisa asked me.

“I don’t know.” I said. “We can’t let them find it. Those people are living peacefully and they would just ruin it.”

Suddenly something hit us. I didn’t know what it was at first but then I realized, as we toppled over the side of the cliff, it was a net. They used a hunting net to catch us. And in doing so they sent us into the ocean water. My thermal suit was useless in freezing water. Elisa would be alright though. Yeah, she’d survive long enough to be taken away and sent back into the past again.

“I’m sorry I couldn’t keep my promise.” I said as we splashed into the icy water. The net dragged us down so even if we didn’t freeze we’d drown. I remember seeing Elisa smile at me but then I don’t know what happened.

Ch.5.

When I awoke from the darkness I was in my bed at the base. I was too heavy to move and I felt like I was on fire. I looked around and seen a new door in my room. One with metal bars on it. Behind those bars was Elisa. She was crying but she seemed fine.

“El-” I tried to speak but it hurt.

She looked up sharply then stood and steered at me. “Devin?” she said.

“Elisa.” I struggled to say.

“Oh your alright.” she said dropping down onto her knees.

My mother barged in then and seen me awake. “Because of you we lost ten years of research on that girl. I still can’t believe she’s alive.”

“Don’t… you hurt her.” I managed to get out.

“The lab has been moved into her cell.” mother said. “When the scientists get back we’ll see what makes her tick.”

“No.” I said.

“He’s right.” the old man said. I don’t know how or when he got here but he was now standing in the doorway. “That girl is keeping this icy land from melting and flooding the earth. You touch her and you and your lab go underwater.”

“Who are you?” mother asked him.

“The cleaner.” he said holding up a mop. “But she told me what she was. What she does.”

The old man lied to mother. He must have noticed we were missing and come to find us. I bet he didn’t expect this.

“Anyway.” finished the old man. “That boy needs a doctor and a miracle. He’s burning hotter then any thermometer will read.”

“Let me.” Elisa said. “I can cool him off. Bring his fever down.”

“Not a chance.” mother said.

“Please.” Elisa begged. “I can help him.”

Finally they let Elisa out of her cell and she ran right to my side.

“Hey.” she said quietly. “Your body is overheating. You’re very sick. But I can help. I have to cool your body off and then you’ll be fine.”

She sounded scared even though I was the one dieing and not her. Then again she was traumatized from almost killing me last time she met me. I watched with the best smile I could muster as she took off her gloves.

“What is she doing?” mother whispered.

“Okay.” Elisa said to me. “Please be okay.” she touched her finger tips to my burning forehead and gasped.

“What..s wrong?” I asked.

“I felt- I felt heat.” she said. “That’s never happened before.”

“You… okay?” I asked.

“I’m fine.” she said sliding the palm of her hand down my cheek. “But you’re not cooling down.”

“Your… warming up.” I said taking her hand. “Isn’t that… bad?”

“I don’t know.” she said.

“Her heart is made of ice.” the old man said. “Yours of fire. Your melting her ice.”

“Will it… kill her?” I asked weakly.

“It might.” the old man said. “Or… it will return her back to normal.”

“Really?” Elisa and I said.

“Would you.. risk it?” I asked her.

“You know where I’ll end up if I don’t.” she said.

“Eighteen is no age to die.” the old man said. “We should leave them. See what comes of this.”

The people in the room obeyed the old man for some reason and left the room.

“If I melt your ice… you might die.” I said.

“You don’t know that.” she said sitting on the edge of my bed. “And it might fix you too. If ice melts it becomes water witch can put of fire. You could be normal again too.”

“Or we both die.” I said. “What is your answer? Will you do it?”

She nodded. “And you?” she asked.

“I will.” I said.

“Okay.” she said slipping under my blanket. “If we die I want you to know your the best person I’ve ever met, okay. Either way you kept your promise. I’m free now.”

Ch.6.

I woke up. You can’t imagine how happy I was to wake up. I was no longer burning up, I was slightly cold actually. Probably because I had no clothes on and only one blanket in the middle of the Arctic.

“Elisa?” I said. She hadn’t woken yet and she was very cold. Her usual made of ice cold. It hadn’t worked. She wasn’t cured. “Elisa!” I said. “Please wake up.” if she wasn’t cured then she… wouldn’t she be dead. But why. Why cure me but not her. Why do that.

“Why not.” said a small voice. Apparently I had spoken aloud.

“You’re alive.” I said relieved.

“Of course I am.” she said. “And I’m not an alien e- wait. I wasn’t sent back yet.”

“No you weren’t.” I said hugging her.

“No don’t I’ll freeze you.” she said.

“I don’t care.” I said, refusing to let her go.

“But I do.” she said. “I can’t freeze you.”

“You’re not though.” I said. “Look I’m not freezing. I must be immune to it or something.”

“Your heart was made of fire. Perhaps it gave you the ability to prevent my freezing.” she said.

“Then I can stay here.” I said still holding onto her. “Because I never want to let go.”

“Perhaps you should get dressed and tell your mother you’re not dead.” she said smiling.

“I guess.” I said. “But can I- I mean I can’t freeze like this so would I-”

“What are you blabbering about?” she asked.

“Well it’s just I really- and I shouldn’t freeze- so I mean I could- well we could- well I-”

“Oh shut up and kiss me you fool.” she said. “If you’re really immune then you wont turn into ice and shatter into pieces.”

“I think I’ll take that chance.” I said kissing her.

“Your alive!” they all said surprised. The gang was crowded around our kitchen having drinks and chips. Not one of them looked relieved that I was alive. Except the old man. He nodded to me before slipping out.

“I am.” I said. “And you can’t send Elisa back into the ice. I forbid it.”

“You have no control over what we do.” mother said. “That is my call. Without her down there the ice is already melting at an alarming speed.”

“So what, build something to keep it frozen.” I said.

“Get out of the way. We’re sending her back. It’ll be like we never dug her up in the first place. You wont even remember her.” she said. “Now move.”

“No.” I snapped.

The men tried to push past me, three or four of them were holding me back. I pulled my shoulder out of place trying to get free as my mother took Elisa.

I knew what was going to happen and I couldn’t let it happen. Elisa would come back okay but I wouldn’t be the same when she did. I wouldn’t remember her and she would be ten years older then me. After everything we went threw there was no way I would let that happen.

I could see threw the door as my mother and two men tried to force Elisa into the weird machine that would send her away forever. Right before mom sent her back Elisa would freeze herself in that purple ice. Then I would live and die without her. I kicked out at the men holding me and burst threw the door as my mother hit the switch.

Ch.7.

“Hey! We need some help over here. The drill just cut out.” called a man bundled from head to toe to keep out the icy wind of the Arctic.

“What do you mean?” asked an impatient woman who never got off her cell phone long enough to see what was happening around her. How the damn thing worked in the middle of Antarctica was beyond me.

“It just turned it’s self off.” the man said.

“Impossible.” the woman said hitting a switch on a machine she had no knowledge of.

The drill roared back to life but quickly died again before it could drill down any further.

“Hey I think there’s something down there.” called another man who was also bundled up. He had a pink hat the other men sometimes laughed at.

“What is it?” asked the woman.

The man in the pink hat looked down again then said “It’s too hard to tell from up here. We’ll have to remove the drill and go down.”

Several hours later a team of men and women wearing harnesses, and lights on their heads, started climbing down the smooth icy hole that the drill had made.

Down at the bottom, preventing the drill from going any further, was a chunk of smooth ice the colour of lavender.

“I think there’s something in it.” one man said as he brushed his glove over the ice.

They brought the ice back to their base and inspected it. No one wanted to melt it since the ice was an unnatural colour but they all wanted to know what was inside. So they chipped off a couple of pieces from the sides and kept them for further research before beginning to melt the ice.

Inside that ice, for probably a million years or more according to the scientists, was a girl about eighteen years old…

and a boy holding onto her.

He looked like I did only older.

The scientists were about to begin experiments on them when I interrupted them. They all hurried out and when they were all gone, the girl woke up.

“Devin.” the girl said to the boy. He even had the same name as me. “Oh Devin please wake up you stupid fool. Why would you jump into the time machine with me. My body can freeze and not die but yours cant. You stupid stupid fool.”

“Is he me?” I asked the crying girl.

“Devin.” she said wiping away her tears. “Yes this is you. We were sent back in time. You weren’t supposed to come with me.”

“Why not?” I asked. “Even if I died I’d be happier knowing I died with you then without you. I love you don’t I? That me there. It looks like I do.”

“I wouldn’t know. You never said.” she told me.

“Why not?” I asked. “That’s kind of stupid of me not to tell you before I died. I’d never die without telling you how I felt.”

“Because I love you.” I said and the other me said together.

“Oh Devin!” the girl cried as she hugged him. “Thank you. For not abandoning me.”

“You should go.” I said. “Before they get back. If you run now you’ll be safe.”

“Thank you little me.” the other me said. “Tell them we got up and ran away.”

“But why?” I asked.

“Because they won’t believe you.” he said.

I watched them both, holding hands, as they walked threw the snow toward the rising sun until I couldn’t see them anymore.

“Where did the specimens go?” asked a scientist man.

“They got up and ran away.” I said steering after them, even though they were now long gone.

“Yeah right. Did you see who took them?”

“They got up… and ran away.” I said again.

“Sure kid. Whatever.”

The frozen girl and the other me were never seen after that. Maybe they died in the snow. Maybe they now live somewhere were we can’t find them. It’s like they simply ceased to be. All I know is that I want to be that other me. Because that other me was happy. And happy was never a maybe for that other me. But the frozen girl and the other me… were happy some place far away from me.

The End

20160118_223301

Leave a Reply

